Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger Withdraw from ECOWAS

AlMohagig – Agencies

 Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger announced on Sunday their immediate withdrawal from the ECOWAS group in West Africa.

 According to what was reported by Agence France-Presse, the leaders of the three Sahel countries issued a statement in which they said that the departure of the Economic Community of West African States “without delay” is a “sovereign decision.”

 Today, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) confirmed the withdrawal of the three countries from its ranks.

 Burkina Faso and Mali sided with the Nigerien army, which ousted President Mohamed Bazoum on July 26.

 These countries have repeatedly threatened to withdraw from the ECOWAS group against the backdrop of the latter’s position on the situation in Niger.

مقالات ذات صلة

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button